When you work on a draw.io diagram, the data is stored on your local device – your diagram data is never sent to our servers. The draw.io servers also never see the data when you save your diagram – you will save it to the platform you are using – Atlassian Confluence or Jira, Trello, Google Drive, your local device, or whatever other platform or integration you are using with draw.io.
The only time where diagram data is temporarily sent to the draw.io servers is when you export a diagram to a raster format (an image) using an outdated browser (Internet Explorer) or a PDF file – we can’t convert your diagram to these formats purely in your browser. Your diagram data is never saved – it is immediately deleted after you have received the image file or the PDF.
draw.io can help you achieve ISO/IEC certifications
Because your diagram data is not shared or stored outside of your device and the platform where you save your diagram, draw.io can help you achieve certification under the ISO 27000, 27001 and 27002 standards, the three worldwide standards that cover data protection.
And if you are using draw.io for Confluence, you can diagram your processes. Along with the comprehensive and integrated revision history, your draw.io diagrams will help you get certified under ISO 19011 (auditing and quality management systems).
Diagrams also make audits more efficient
External corporate governance and financial audits, where business and IT processes are also assessed, are a common requirement especially for strictly regulated industries, non-profit organizations, and publicly traded companies which must be audited under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act to be listed on the American Stock Exchange. Diagrams of your processes make these audits less time consuming and much less stressful.
We care about your privacy
In addition to not allowing your diagram data to be stored on our servers, we have tools and processes in place to help you protect your information.
- You can share a diagram without sharing the text and metadata: The anonymize plugin for draw.io overwrites all text and metadata in your diagram so you can share it without sharing any potentially sensitive information.
- While the draw.io server needs to log information about your device and your IP to help our engineering staff debug errors, these logs are cyclicly overwritten every 10 days, and non-technical staff have no access.
- When errors happen, as they do in all software, draw.io will send an error report to the servers with the line of code the condition that occurred. These error reports contain no personal information or any part of your diagram data.
draw.io and the GDPR
Read more about the personal data protection regulations, including the GDPR at the European Commission.